A Musical Heritage

The Cure, The Style Council, Billy Bragg, David Bowie, Caravan, Queen, Lou Reed, The Maytals, Paul Weller, The Specials, John Lennon, Mick Jagger, Iggy Pop, Miles Davis, Stevie Wonder…and so, so, so many more, are my current antidote to that shockingly painful gangnam (sp?) song that the Koreans fired over and that my binlids have been taken with.

Yes,  children, should have access to popular culture, but when it is that bad it sets you to thinking about a proper musical education. And so ours has begun in earnest.

And because the one extraordinarily positive thing this small grey island has going for it, is its sheer amount of incredible musicians, in Blighty our musical heritage is prodigious. I am extremely proud of that.

Unknown

Being the youngest of four, I was spoilt in my melodic choice, my siblings introduced me to a wealth of musical genius and it’s foundation shaped my diverse joy in music, I want to pass that on to my children.

This wealth can also educate us, as parents and keep us grounded, consider Bowie’s Kooks:

“…And if you ever have to go to school,
Remember how they messed up
this old fool.
Don’t pick fights with the bullies
or the cads
Cause I’m not much cop at punching other peoples dads.
And if the homework brings you down
Then we’ll throw it on the fire
And take the car downtown..”

All of this will provide them with a firm musical legacy, that they can bounce off.

My only problem is when to stop…

3 Comments

  1. It has incredible gusto and humour and rhythmic vigour. It is also a satire on on the superficiality of the new rich in South Korea. And I can’t get it out of my head……..!
    x

Leave a Reply

